Community Forums
Forum Index FAQFAQ SearchSearch MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in RegisterRegister
Not sure what to do...
Goto page 1, 2  Next

View previous topic :: View next topic  
username

PostPosted: Sat Sep 19, 2009 9:38 pm    Post subject: Not sure what to do... Reply with quote

Hello all. This is my first post on this website; I've read it off and on for the past few years, and am recently discovering I've hit a brick wall. So my thoughts are that I'll start asking some questions and see what comes of it.

My story:
I'm a 24 year old teacher and grad student. My girlfriend and I have been together for nearly 4 years. We had been long distance up until about 8 months ago. About 9 months into our relationship, she revealed to me that her step father had been raping and molesting her since she was 11, starting exactly 1 month after he married my girlfriend's mother. Our relationship obviously changed. We were very fortunate; we discovered that he had held on to videotapes of the abuse, we locked them all in a safe-deposit box, and when she was ready to turned them into the police. A little over a year of many frustrating legal battles, he was sentenced to 20 years in jail. We're lucky - not many people have the satisfaction of seeing their abuser appear before a judge.

The problem: